Eight Pioneer Teams Earn NCAA Public Recognition Awards

Eight Pioneer Teams Earn NCAA Public Recognition Awards

The NCAA announced their Public Recognition Awards Wednesday with eight Sacred Heart athletic programs being recognized for their academic achievements.  The baseball, men’s golf, men’s indoor track, men’s volleyball, women’s basketball, women’s cross country, women’s ice hockey and women’s soccer teams were recognized for scoring in the top 10 percent in each sport with respect to their Academic Progress Rates (APRs). Top-performing teams this year posted APR scores ranging from 980 to a perfect 1,000.

The Sacred Heart men’s volleyball program has earned Public Recognition Award in each of the nine years of the NCAA’s academic reform program, one of just 146 teams to accomplish the feat.  Sacred Heart is one of 58 institutions across the country who have had at least one team win all nine years.

Each year, the NCAA tracks the classroom performance of student-athletes on every Division I team through the annual scorecard of academic achievement, known as APR. The rate measures eligibility, graduation and retention each semester or quarter and provides a clear picture of the academic performance in each sport. The most recent APRs are multi-year rates based on scores from the 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11 and 2011-2012 academic years.

The NCAA honors selected Division I sports teams by publicly recognizing their latest multi-year APR. The announcement is part of the overall Division I academic reform effort and is intended to highlight teams that demonstrate a commitment to academic progress and retention of student-athletes by achieving the top APRs within their respective sports. The most recent APRs are multi-year rates based on scores from the 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-2012 and 2012-13 academic years.

The 1,049 teams publicly recognized this year for high achievement include 631 women’s teams and 418 men’s or mixed squads. A total of 275 schools, out of 346 Division I colleges and universities, placed at least one team on the top APR list. Last year, 976 teams were honored.