Pioneer Men’s Hoops to Play in Cancun Tournament

Pioneer Men’s Hoops to Play in Cancun Tournament

FAIRFIELD, Conn. (May 9, 2011) – The Sacred Heart University men's basketball team will take part in the 2011 Cancun Challenge, as announced by Triple Crown Sports.  The Pioneers will join Hampton, Lipscomb and Southern Illinois University Edwardsville in making up the Mayan Division in this year's tournament field.

"We are very excited to be playing in a first class event," stated head coach Dave Bike. "It is a great opportunity for our players and supporters to play in another country and compete against quality programs outside of our conference."

The 2011 Cancun Challenge, in its fourth year, features eight men's NCAA Division I teams in two divisions, the Riviera and Mayan.  The games in Cancun feature two separate four-team brackets with games tipping off on Tuesday, Nov. 22, and completing on Wednesday, Nov. 23.

The Riviera Division includes Illinois, Illinois State, Richmond and Rutgers. All teams will play two games in the U.S. prior to traveling to Cancun. Before making the flight to Cancun, the Pioneers will travel to Rutgers on November 19th and Richmond on November 21st.

 "We are thrilled with the teams who will be participating in the event," said Cancun Challenge Tournament Director Brent Amick.  "We feel it will be a very competitive tournament as it has been in the past."

Fan admission and lodging package information is available by visiting the tournament website at  This unique tournament is held at the convention center at the beautiful all-inclusive beach front resort of the Moon Palace.

Previous Rivera Division champions include Vanderbilt (2008), Kentucky (2009) and Missouri (2010).  Previous Mayan Division champions include Sam Houston State (2009) and North Florida (2010).

The Cancun Challenge is owned and operated by Fort Collins, Colorado based Triple Crown Sports, Inc., which also owns and operates other women's college basketball tournaments in Cancun as well as the Preseason and Postseason Women's National Invitation tournaments.