Men’s Golf Earns Northeast Conference Sportsmanship Award

2011 Northeast Conference Champions
2011 Northeast Conference Champions

Complete NEC Release (PDF)

SOMERSET, N.J. – The Northeast Conference announced its 2010-2011 Winter and Spring team sports award winners, Wednesday afternoon.  The Sacred Heart University men's golf team added the honor of NEC Sportsmanship Award to its NEC title.

The Pioneers concluded their 2011 season at the NCAA Central Regional, hosted by Indiana University, on May 19-21.  Prior to that, SHU claimed its third conference title in four years at the NEC championship at ChampionsGate, Fla. on May 1.

Head coach Matt McGreevy was named the league's Coach of the Year, while four Pioneer golfers earned all-conference honors.  Senior David Renski (North Stonington, Conn.) and junior Joseph Serrantino (Cromwell, Conn.) each claimed spots on the All-NEC First Team, while junior Leopoldo Garcia (Guaynabo, Puerto Rico) and sophomore Joshua Salah (Gloucester, Mass.) were placed on the All-NEC Second Team.