Eight Pioneers Named To Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team

HAVERHILL, Mass. – Eight Sacred Heart men's hockey players were named to the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team, the league announced on Tuesday. Graduated senior Eric Delong was one of 11 student-athletes to be named Student-Athlete of the Year for having a 4.0 grade point average during the 2012-13 season.

Delong is one of four members of the Sacred Heart men's hockey class of 2013 to be a four-time selection to the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team. Tommy Castonguay, Steven Legatto, and Alex Stuart also earned their fourth All-Academic Team honors. Sophomores Andrew Bodnarchuk (Saskatoon, Sask.), Ryan Stanimir (West Vancouver, B.C.), and Jared Eng (North Vancouver, B.C.), as well as freshmen Morgan Bonner (Toronto, Ont.), Jake Lynes (Ellicott City, Md.), Frederik Melander (Uppsala, Sweden), and Josh Phillips (Toronto, Ont.) made their first appearance on the All-Academic Team on Tuesday.

To qualify for the Atlantic Hockey All-Academic Team, an individual must post a 3.0 grade point average of higher in all of the academic semesters during which his team was actively competing.