Men's and Women's Track and Field Both Win CTC Relays at Yale

Men's and Women's Track and Field Both Win CTC Relays at Yale

(New Haven, CT) - The Sacred Heart Men's and Women's Track and Field teams competed in the Collegiate Track Conference (CTC) Relays Sunday at Yale University.  The women won this meet for the 14th consecutive year with seven relay wins, while the men won for the 13th consecutive year with ten relay wins.  Altogether the team had eight individual New England qualifying performances, and the men had two IC4A qualifiers. 

"The competition in this meet wasn't that difficult for us this year, but I think it's quite an accomplishment to win a meet 13 or 14 years in a row," said head coach Christian Morrison.  "It's no easy thing to build up a streak like that, and it's certainly a very positive way to open up our season."

Angelica Johnson (7.23 seconds) and Nicole Scicolone (7.73 seconds) combined to take the 55-meter dash relay, with Johnson also finishing the individual winner of the event and automatically qualifing for the New England Championships by surpassing the 7.40 second qualifying standard.

Brianna Castrogivanni (19:14.98) and Mekenzie Krause (19:31.32) teamed to win the 5000 meter relay, finishing 2nd and 3rd individually.

The team of Teresa Gagliostro, Megan Papp, Erin McPherson, and Samantha Troy won the 4 x 1600 relay, with Papp running the fastest 1600 meter split of 5:31.2. 

In the sprint medley relay, the foursome of Stephanie Kanner, Julianne Cappadona, Angelica Johnson, Brigid Paddock took home the win for SHU, while the team of Olivia Civardi, Alexandra Smith, Erin O'Shea, Brittney Lane brought home victory in the distance medley relay.  Lane ran a strong 1600 meter anchor leg in 5:23.4.

Ashley Matakevich (18' 1") and Nicole Scicolone finished first and second individually in the long jump relay, with bounds of 18'1" and 16'11.5" respectfully.  Both automatically qualified for the New England Championship by topping the 17' 8 ½" qualifying standard.

In the shot put relay, Chantaul Smith and Carol Cress combined for the relay win , with Smith's 40' 5" and Cress' 39' 8 ¾" capturing first and second respectfully in the event.  Lindsay Aponte also placed third individually at 38' 7", but only the top two finishers count towards the relay performance.

Smith also won her second event in the weight throw with a mark of 49' 5 ¾", automatically qualifying for the New England Championships by surpassing the qualifying standard of 49' ¼. Matakevich also notched a second individual win in the triple jump with a leap of 37' 1 ¼", surpassing the automatic New England standard of 36' 7". 

Jeremy Rosado (7.56 seconds) and Bertony Jean-Louis (7.59 seconds) dominated the 55-meter hurdle relay.   In addition to placing first and second individually, both Rosado and Jean-Louis easily qualified for the New England Championships and the IC4A Championship.  The New England standard is 7.96 seconds and the IC4A standard is 7.75 seconds.

For the men, Christopher Connelly and Richard Marcello combined for an easy 5000 meter relay victory, with individual times of 15:31.66 and 15:31.98 respectfully placing them second and third (less than one second off the winning time).

Roger Harris, Kwame Banahene, Matthew Lyhne, Kevin Kosis combined to win the 4 x 200-meters relay, with Lyhne running the fastest 200 meter split at 22.3 seconds. 

In the 4 x 400 meters relay Bertony Jean-Louis, Jeremy Rosado, Peter Conti, and Kosis combined for victory, with Rosado running the fastest 400-meter split at 50.0 seconds. 

Jeffrey Lusignan, Colin Seidl, Jeffrey Benesch, Andrew Houghtalen won the 4 x 800 meters relay, led by Houghtalen's 2:00.6 800-meter split.

Stephen Benoit, Houghtalen, Benesch, and Seidl won the 4 x 1600 Meters Relay, with Houghtalen also running the fastest 1600-meter split of 4:22.6.

In the distance medley relay, the team of John Ahern, Cleveland White, Nicholas Arena, Jeffrey Lusignan finished victorious.  Arena ran the 800-meter leg of the relay in 2:00.3, and Lusignan clocked a very fast 1600 meter anchor leg of 4:20.9.

Scott Kasper, Peter Conti, John Bushell, Patrick Peterson won the sprint medley relay, with  Peterson running the 800-meter anchor leg in 1:58.1.

In the shot put relay, Chase Petrucci (49' 9 ¼") and Marc Troiani (46' 2 ¾") combined for the win.  Petrucci, who was the individual winner of the event, threw a big personal best to automatically qualify for the New England Championships, surpassing the New England standard of 48' 8".  Troiani placed second in the event.

Nicholas Phillips and Scott Polis won the high jump relay with respective bounds of 6' 0" and 5' 8".  In addition to the relay win, Phillips was also the individual winner of the event.

Brandon Hutchinson won the long jump with an automatic New England qualifying leap of 22' 9 ¾", surpassing the qualifying standard of 22' 4 ¼".  Kwame Banahene won the 55-meter dash in 6.61 seconds, narrowly missing the New England qualifying standard of 6.60 seconds.