Women's Golf, Women's Ice Hockey Earn NCAA APR Public Recognition Awards

Women's Golf, Women's Ice Hockey Earn NCAA APR Public Recognition Awards

NCAA Release

The NCAA announced their Public Recognition Awards Wednesday with two Sacred Heart athletic programs being recognized for their academic achievements. The women's ice hockey and women's golf teams were recognized for scoring in the top 10 percent in each sport with respect to their Academic Progress Rate (APR), both posting perfect scores. The women's golf team earns the honor for the second consecutive year.

This marks the third recognition for the women's golf team, with the first in 2013 The women's ice hockey team has received four NCAA Public Recognition awards, with three straight from 2011-2013. The 1,328 teams publicly recognized for high achievement, a 44 team increase from last year, with 1,214 teams posting perfect scores. All told, 321 schools had programs earn APR Recognition Awards, with 857 women's sports and 471 men's or mixed sports.

Each year, the NCAA honors selected Division I sports teams by publicly recognizing their latest multiyear NCAA Division I Academic Progress Rate (APR).  This announcement is part of the overall Division I academic reform effort and is intended to highlight teams that demonstrate a commitment to academic progress and retention of student-athletes by achieving the top APRs within their respective sports.  Specifically, these teams posted multiyear APRs in the top 10 percent of all squads in each sport.  This year's release will again include recognition in the sport of football by subdivision (i.e., Football Bowl Subdivision and NCAA Football Championship Subdivision).

The APR provides a real-time look at a team's academic success each semester by tracking the academic progress of each student-athlete on scholarship.  The APR accounts for eligibility, retention and graduation and provides a measure of each team's academic performance. The most recent APRs are multiyear rates based on scores from the 2014-15, 2015-16, 2016-17 and 2017-18 academic years.