Men's Lacrosse Announces 2010 Team Awards

Men's Lacrosse Announces 2010 Team Awards

May 11, 2010

FAIRFIELD, CT – Head coach Tom Mariano has announced the team awards for the 2010 Sacred Heart University men’s lacrosse team.  The Pioneers concluded the 2010 season 4-11 overall, including a thrilling 7-6 overtime victory against intrastate rival Hartford.  Seniors Timmy Katz and Tom Trgo were each honored as the team’s Offensive and Defensive Most Valuable Players.

Katz, an attackman from Freeport, NY, led SHU in scoring with 47 total points and a team-high 32 goals.  He also dished out 15 assists and recorded five hat tricks.  Katz finished his four-year career with 78 goals and 38 assists to total 116 points.

Trgo, a goalkeeper from N. Merrick, NY, started 14 games in the cage for the Pioneers.  He stopped 201 shots and posted a save percentage of .570 and a goal against average of 10.76.  Against Jacksonville, Trgo made a career-high 22 saves.  He also made 16 saves or more in seven games.  His .570 career save percentage ranks third in school history, while his 236 saves rank fifth.


Freshman defender Pat Fletcher (Silver Spring, MD) was named the team’s Rookie of the Year.  In his first collegiate season he appeared in 12 games and picked up 14 groundballs and caused nine turnovers.


The Pioneer’s Heart award went to sophomore attack Tom Whitfield (Levittown, NY), while the Coaches’ Award went to senior attack Vincent Castelli (Woodbury, NY).  Senior Ken Ushman (Menlo Park, CA) received the Groundball Award.  In his final season, he appeared in 14 games, making seven starts, and collected 26 groundballs and caused 21 turnovers.

Mariano also named the captains for the 2011 season.  Seniors Ben Cimmino (Longmeadow, MA), Zach Frank Islip Terrace, NY), Billy Skelos (Lynbrook, NY), and Rock Tate (Lantana, FL) will all serve as captains for next season’s squad.