Swimming and Diving Releases 2019-20 Schedule

Swimming and Diving Releases 2019-20 Schedule

2019-20 Schedule

FAIRFIELD, Conn.- The Sacred Heart University Swimming and Diving Team and head coach John Spadafina released their 2019-20 schedule this afternoon.

The Pioneers will be competing in 12 meets this season beginning on Sept. 28 when SHU faces off against Fairfield at the Fairfield Invitational. Following the non-conference showdown, the SHU will kick off Northeast Conference play at Central Connecticut on Saturday, Oct. 12 at 12:00 p.m.

One week later, the Pioneers will head to New Rochelle, N.Y. to attend at meet a Iona College featuring Iona, Wagner and St. Francis (N.Y.) on Saturday Oct. 19. In the next week the Pioneers will head to Stony Brook to take on the Seawolves and LIU on Oct. 26 to conclude the month of October.

SHU kicks off November with a meet at Providence College on Wednesday, Nov. 6 when the Pioneers face off against the Friars and the University of Rhode Island. Just three days later the Pioneers will take on Assumption College on Saturday Nov. 9. The Pioneers crushed Assumption last season by a final score of 162-115.

The Pioneers will take a two week break before heading back into the pool at the Blue Devil Invitational Prelims and Finals hosted by NEC foe Central Connecticut State beginning on Friday Nov. 22 and concluding on Sunday, Nov. 24. Then to kick off the month of December, the Pioneers will compete at the ECAC Winter Championships beginning on Friday Dec. 6 and ending the next day on Saturday, Dec. 7.

Following the conclusion of winter break the Pioneers kick off the new year at home on Saturday Jan. 11 when SHU faces off against new Northeast Conference member Merrimack at 12:30 p.m. at McCann Natatorium in Milford, CT. Just a week later the Pioneers will stay at home to face off against Siena on Saturday, Jan. 18 at 12:30 p.m. as SHU honors its seniors for Senior Day as well.

SHU will wrap on the regular season on the road beginning with a matchup at Monmouth on Saturday Jan. 25 at 1:00 p.m. The Pioneers will conclude the regular season at St. Francis (N.Y) on Sunday Feb. 2 before the NEC Championships kick off on Wednesday Feb. 19 at 6:00 p.m. and run until Saturday Feb. 22.